Siege of Limerick

History 2012

2012 saw the 4th installment of The Siege of Limerick. Like the Siege preceding it, 22 teams competed in the Open Division and 6 teams in the Women’s Division. It was the first time The Siege was held on UL’s state of the art 3G synthetic grass pitches, which proved to be one of the tournaments main attractions. We were successful in enticing Brodie Smith to come over to The Siege. This also proved to be a huge attraction. Brodie played for Limerick Jims New York team, Big Apple Turnover. While in Ireland Brodie did several coaching/throwing clinics around the country for several clubs/colleges. We also had Melissa Witmer over, a well known ultimate fitness guru. She did a fitness clinic for coaches in Ireland.

After the absence of The Siege in 2011, the 2012 edition was gladly welcome back and was an enjoyable weekend for everyone involved. The weekend displayed high quality, intense ultimate throughout, as well as a great Saturday night party in Dolans Warehouse!


Open Division:

Winners: Rebel Ultimate

Runners Up: UCD

MVP of the Final: Conor Hogan (UCD)

Plate: NUIM

SOTG: Broc Ultimate

Womens Division:

Winners: LMS

Runners Up: Jabba the Huckers

MVP of the Final: Yvonne Halpin (LMS)

SOTG: Jabba the Huckers